Pinwheel bunting for Baxters room

I took a little break from blogging over the last week as I needed to spend some time with my family after two weeks solid illness. We took a trip to Middlefarm in Lewes, we had trips to Hove Park with good friends L & E and lots of seaside walks (all carried out in between the heavy rain down pours we have been experiencing!)

Anyhow, I’m back now, and today I have for you….homemade pinwheel bunting! (which I managed to make amongst our family time, doesn’t matter if the floor hasn’t been cleaned or the cushions pumped up, Baxter has bunting!) I’m not naturally a ‘bunting’ person, I made it once for a street party and that’s the only time. I usually associate bunting with Country styles and Shabby Chic, but after spotting some gorgeous Pinwheel bunting on City Girl gone Coastal who I happened to discover during my recent blog party, I was convinced that there could be space for bunting in my heart and home! Amanda’s blog has some amazingly gorgeous homemade creations and some very cute snaps of her two twin boys, it’s definitely worth checking out, and even better, I discovered she is a neighbour in East Sussex!

This bunting was ridiculously easy to make, and not to ‘twee’ for my taste. I used double sided scrapbook paper which had quite a boyish theme, little stars, trains and numbers (perfect for a mathematicians son). I used Amanda’s tutorial for folding the pinwheels, which was super easy to follow, I also used some pastel coloured brads (I never knew what these little things were called until recently, anybody know why they are called Brads rather than say Jonnys?…okay maybe thats obvious!) After making one, I was able to knock out a bunch of them in a short space of time. I threaded them on some very thin seafoam blue ribbon and hung them up. I’m really pleased with them and I think they add character to Baxter’s room (which is in desperate need of some love)

What do you think? Have you changed your mind on a particular style recently and rethought your whole decor?

Lots of lovely pinwheel goodness

20120425-093151.jpg

20120425-093200.jpg

20120425-093216.jpg

20120425-093222.jpg

3 responses

Penny for your thoughts!

