Horse hair bench makeover

This little bench was a real pleasure to fix up as it was my first attempt at reupholstering and it didn’t go dreadfully wrong.

BIt George and Mildred for me...and you can't see the mildew...urgh

I bought the bench at a carboot sale for £8 and knew that it could be given a new lease of life as soon as I spotted it.

First of all I removed the skanky floral fabric (which admittedly took me about 2 months to get round to doing as we started using said bench as a footstool…ugh!) and then measured out a new cover. I then removed all of the old pins and tacks. Next I straightened out the ‘innards’ (what’s the technical name for that webbing stuff that holds in the horse hair?) and then nailed down with gimp  pins (yep, thats there real name!) the new fabric cover.

Then I sanded down the bench itself, once with a medium paper and once with a fine paper. Finally the fun part, painting the little beauty. I decided on using Satinwood, as I could not decide between high gloss or eggshell so went for something inbetween. I had the colour made up to compliment the fabric I used and applied two coats whilst B was sleeping over the period of two nights.

What would I do differently next time?

I am pretty pleased with the results, although for a future bench makeover I would pick totally different fabric and maybe try out Annie Sloane paints for a classier look, however as I didn’t want to spend loads this fabric was pretty for the amount I spent…less than a fiver and the paint came in at under a tenner! I would also take more care with the corners of the fabric and tack them in tighter as the extra bulk from the fabric has put stress on the corner joints and has created a small gap in the joins…but hey I can live with that for a first attempt!

You are a very cute little bench indeed. Saggy moroccan pouffe you need a good stuffing HAHA

With my new 'Mummy Rules' cushion...well I am the Queen of this house!

Penny for your thoughts!

