Firing up my imagination with Fired Earths Mid-Century paint collection

I have been looking for an interesting paint colour to use on B’s tallboy (cheekily scavaged from  some neighbours moving to France), but had not found anything in particular that I liked, I wanted something that was contemporary, but not too fashiony if you know what I mean. The obvious choice after all of my recent posts would be yellow, like this beautiful restored unit, however I am really feeling a corally orange (possibly to work with a circus themed nursery). This is where Fired Earths Mid-Century paints come in.

c/o 4 men 1 lady

I have walked past the Fired Earth shop in Brighton hundreds of times, but this weekend I noticed their delightful Mid-Century window, featuring painted clay pots, you guessed it, painted in their new Mid-Century range. The colours are part inspired by the 1951 Festival of Britain and ‘are bold and optimistic and capture the spirit of the time making them utterly relevant for today’shome’, so in other words they won’t date, quicker than you can say chocolate and lime bleugh (I have learned my lesson here, with the too fashiony colour scheme). There are only six colours, but they bring so much to the table (literally). They are bright and bold, yet simple and understated.

Anything painted in one of these stellar colours would look amazing, modern and fresh and not too fashiony. I wish I had of found these before I painted my lamp stand…

Penny for your thoughts!

