Plastic is not my bag, but I do love a bit of Kartell

Can I just say how much I love Kartell. As the post mentions, this suprises me immensely, as I am such a fan of soft tactile objects, and plastic is not my bag, however, the beautiful jewel tones and simple shapes of the chairs, stools and lighting wins me over.

I had been aware of the brand for a while (having spent a long time lusting over the Phillipe Starck Louis Ghost Chairs for a couple of years), but hadnt actually bothered to check out what other goods they made, considering plastic is not my bag. However, when looking out for some contemporary lighting for a project, I came across the ‘GE Ceiling Light’ in ‘Clear’ from humble old John Lewis.

This light is a perfect contemporary foil for more classic elegant rooms. It brings a modern feel to rooms which you perhaps want to decorate less often like a hallway. My project (if it goes ahead) will use some classic Wisteria wallpaper from Farrow and Ball and will have a very elegant feel about it, however as the owners are a young professional couple in their early thirties I need to ensure that the hallway reflects their young style. The GE is perfect for this.

So I carried on checking outa the rest of Kartells range and I was totally inspired. The chairs are another post altogether (the new peachy sepia coloured ghost chairs are amazing), the pedalstals, cabinets and lighting…OMG! These items, are ultimately plastic (a material im not a massive fan of) but they have such beautiful colour depth and simple shapes. These items are not trying to immitate glass, they are proud to be plastic and stick to simple design principles. However saying that, Phillipe Starck has designed a stunning chair featuring a Missoni print, which does blur the edges of plastic and art.  Kartell items will deffinetley be featuring in my future designs more.

GE Light fitting, Image c/o John Lewis Plc

Image c/o John Lewis Plc

Image c/o detnk.com

Penny for your thoughts!

